Georgia Joins Group Of 27 States Supporting Texas Securing Border

Georgia has joined 26 other states in sending a letter to the Biden administration voicing support for Texas Governor Greg Abbott’s work to secure the border, Georgia Attorney General Chris Carr announced on Tuesday. 

“It’s the paramount duty of the federal government to secure our nation’s border and ports of entry, and anything less poses a significant risk to U.S. national security and overall public safety,” said Carr. “Unchecked immigration policies are a source for human trafficking, drug smuggling and other violent crime, and our states are now having to fill in the gap where the Biden administration has failed. Rather than standing in the way of states like Texas, the federal government must take action to address this growing crisis.” 

Since President Biden entered office, a crisis as illegal immigration at the southern border more than tripled during his first year in office – with a record 1,734,686 border patrol encounters of migrants attempting to illegally cross the southern border in fiscal year 2021. The crisis has continued to worsen with that record being broken again in 2022, with 2,378,944 encounters, and again in 2023, with 2,475,669 encounters. 

Fiscal year 2024 is already on track to set yet another new record with reportedly around 302,000 encounters in December – the highest monthly total ever. 

However, as noted in a press release from Carr’s office, “in just one month, Border Patrol cut holes in Texas’ border defense wires more than 20 times. In one case, Border Patrol used a forklift to raise the wire and usher in more than 300 people crossing the Rio Grande into Texas.” 

“A recent order from the U.S. Supreme Court allowed the federal government to remove Texas’ wire, but it does not require the federal government to do so, and it also does not prohibit Texas from repairing or replacing the wire,” the press release added. 

In the letter, the group of states demand that the Biden administration either enforce border security laws or allow states like Texas to secure the border themselves.  

Along with Georgia, the following attorneys general also joined in signing the letter, along with the Arizona State Legislature: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming. 

D & B Staff

More from this show


Episode 2